neck thickness and bridgeheight...

Hi,

I'm new to guitarbuilding and have just begun to draw out my guitar. I've taken most measurements from a Patrick Eggle Berlin, except the bodyshape.

I'm almost done with my guitardrawings on the computer and have calculated almost everything untill it was correct but now I stumble on something that I didn't look into at an earlier stage of the design job...

I'm gonna build mine with a deep set neck. The neck on the Eggle is about 3mm above the bodysurface (not including the fingerboard). I *assumed* it was notmal since my other guitars have a similar construction, but the other have floyd rose's trems and the eggle has a tune-o-matic.

Is there a rule or chart of some kind where I can see how the bridge and neckheight interact?

Is is neccesary to have this or can the fingerboard be right on top of the boby surface??

TIA

JP :D

hmmm we see this question alot, i think we should do a tutorial of some kind... probably a chart with the 2 or 3 types of bridges and ways to build the guitar like you said.. ... not a bad idea!!!

In general tune-o-matic's are taller, and require the neck (fingerboard) to be higher up out(above) of the guitar, 2 common solutions for this are, angle back the neck anywhere from 2 to 4 degree's, and routing a hole for the TOM bridge to sink into.

Floyd's are a bit lower but not by much, which is part of the reason why you usualy see a routing around the bridge that it sits in, this is most evident in ibanez guitars, where you can see the fingerboard is almost the only part of the neck you can see sticking out of the body.

Some guitars employ a bit of both solutions. Ibanez Jem guitars for example have a recessed (sunk) bridge and the neck is angled back a bit (different depths at the front and back of the neck pocket).

I think those would be your 2 best options there, hope that helps B)

and welcome to the forum! :D