No Sound From Stereo Jack Input

Unrealize

Hey!

Been a very long time since I have been posting anything here. Some years ago I did a few guitars, but I had to move to another house that was in pretty bad condition. Finally a little while ago I got my basement set up so that I could finally get back to building guitars again, and now I'm kinda in the finishing phase of the first one... But I have some trouble...

I have been using this wire diagram, but I'm using an EMG-81 instead of Seymore Duncan.

The older kind of EMG without the 'plug', just red wire and a white one with braiding.

wiring1.jpg

This is what I'm left with: I have a stereo output Jack. When I push the Jack in all the way I have no sound. When it's just 'half way' (that is, to the first point where the jack get 'stuck') I have sound.

The volume potmeter doesn't work.

I'm not good with electronics unfortunately. I have followed this schematic, but with tiny alterations.

What I did was solder the braided wire of the white wire from the EMG to the ground of the potmeter.

There is no ground coming from the bridge. (since it is and EMG hb I didn't think that I would need that)

The volume potmeter could be faulty, I can't find any other reason why it shouldn't work, it's soldered ok I think and the wires are in the correct places. (at least according to this schematic).

Any input would be greatly appreciated.. I hope to use this guitar at a gig in a couple weeks and I'm getting a lil desperate.. :P

cheers, and happy new year to you all, and DAAAANG it feels good to be building again, even with problems.. :D

Sound with the plug only halfway in suggests that you have the jack socket wired up wrong. Doublecheck your wiring around the socket. It's not uncommon to accidentally miswire the tip and ring connections, or shorted together with a blob of solder or strand of wire.