Epoxy Please Help

Hello all, this is my first time posting and this first time I have made a guitar (and first time using epoxy haha) so any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'm approaching the finish with this, but after the epoxy dried and I sanded it to be level with the wood in saw there were a couple very small, about 1/4 the size of a fingerip craters that run about 1/16 of an inch deep. Im not sure if the wipe on poly I am applying would fill those, and any reccomendations here i would highly appreciate as sanding the entire guitar down to that level would remove the patterns I made in the epoxy (I put traces of gold colored epoxy at the top).

Second and final, is that along this journey I have also made a wood block mimicking each process of the epoxy so that I can test it before I do it on the guitar. I sanded the epoxy at 180 grit, applied a layer of wipe on poly and I could still see scratches after it dries, so I sanded lightly (to not sand through the poly) at 400 grit and applied another layer of poly. Ive done this about 4 times but can still see scratches at angles where light hits the epoxy. What have I done wrong? Thank you guys.

Note: the greenness of the epoxy is result of photo editor that compressed file size so that I can upload it.

1679684966703.jpg

While 180 can be enough for wood in may cases, it is not fine enough for epoxy. And you can’t jump from 180 to 400 directly. After 180 you sand with 240 until you don’t see any 180 scratches then move to 320 and so on. You may even need to start coarser than 180.

• Like 1

9 hours ago, henrim said:

And you can’t jump from 180 to 400 directly. After 180 you sand with 240 until you don’t see any 180 scratches then move to 320 and so on.