Advice for a Beginner

Hey. I'm a beginner looking to build his own guitar. On Tuesday I'm picking up some cheap wood to practice with, so that I don't screw up a nice piece of wood. Ultimately my goal is to build a clone of the Ibanez JPM P1. Is it worth it to shell out $44 for a template or could I rely upon measurements alone? My main concern at the moment is the building of the neck, and fretting it. Does anybody have any tips, clarifications, or sage advice that are the sort of thing beginners should know and don't? I've already read over basically every tutorial available here. Thanks!

for the cuting part you could rely on your own measurements but it is better to make a template so you cut it to withing 1/8" of the line and final cut with a router template bit, and it lets you make your mistakes on cheap plywood. for routing i say yes, it is worth every penny, routing freehand is damn near impossible, of course there are the precious few whos hands are like a robot, but unless you know you can route better then a cnc machine make a template.

also i dont understand how you are spending 44 bucks on template wood, the most you should need is mdf or plywood, which shouldnt be more than about $20, its cheaper and its much easier to find pieces wide enough, and spend the rest of the money on a template router bit.

also a sound word of advice is to take your time, you are making this for yourself and rushing will only make you make more mistakes.

I think the $44 was for a TEMPLATE, not for just the template wood.

Making your own template is a useful experience, but for any guitars I'm going to make in the future that use pre-existing body/neck shapes (ie. a Les Paul) I'm going to spend the money for the templates. That's just me, of course, but I think having a set (not just the body, but also the neck, headstock, pickup cavities, etc.) of templates will pay for itself in the time you save, if you consider your time to be worth money.