Gritty Frets

Hi all,

Just put together my first frankenguitar, and the neck is admittedly cheap (although fundamentally sound). The problem is it's a bit dry and gritty feeling to play. When bending notes the frets kind of grind. Is there something I can do to smooth out the playing experience? It's a rosewood fretboard too - should I oil it with something?

Sounds like the frets need doing, as the grit you feel is probably some scratches on them.

I'm no expert - but I'd mask off the fingerboard, and then use a good fine oiled oilstone to take out those scratches, then give them a polish with some wire wool and or metal polish - such as brasso.

I'm sure an expert will be along in a minute!

Do the frets have noticable "grooves" in them, or is it just a question of "feeling"?

I would start with some steelwool (highest grade you could possibly find!)

Tape off the fingerboard, and just polish up the frets.

Go along the fret, one fret at a time, not along the fretboard.

You don't have to tape off the whole fingerboard either...

I do it one fret at a time.

Place some masking tape on each side of the fret, and polish. Remove the tape, and move it to the next fret.

As for the fingerboard itself, some lemon oil should take care of that...

This is a minor investment, and may very well be more than enough to make your neck feel better...

You may already have the lemon oil, so all you need is the steelwool (and don't try to use the regular "kitchen cleaning" kind!), and you're good to go.

:D

Thanks chaps - There's no noticeable grooves (it's not an old neck, just a cheap one). I've got some 000000 steel wool, and some lemon oil, so I'm good to go! i have to remove the neck again soon to reshape the headstock and try a shim to alter the neck angle slightly, so I'll do that at the same time.