How Many Knobs

How many knobs should i put on my new gutiar?  

35 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

if you want to see what it will look like, check this out. The reason I can't decide is I like the look of having two knobs, but I never use a tone knob (im only a rhythm guitarist) and money for the pot isnt an issue cuz im getting an EMG pickup and they come with both a volume and a tone pot and I have plenty of knobs to go on top, its basically should i go for looks or practicality?

I'd go for just the one if you never use the tone. One day I would love a guitar with no knobs, just have a vol. pedal for it!

I'm kind of thinking about this too... I rarely use any of the knobs on my guitar... I sometimes use the volume, but only generally to OFF... lol... but I only play at home, dont gig or anything... I guess if I ever got in a band I might need the knobs... who knows...

I think I might go for tone and volume, and have tone as a push/pull for coil tapping... I dunno yet, I need to look into wiring a bit more :D

well, i actually just changed mym ind, im going to go for zero knobs, just go straight from the pickup to the output jack, and im not going to use EMG's im going to use some stock silvertones that i had lying around from my last project, and i played with them to see how you could go straight from one pickup to the jack, and it worked on my first try, so thats what im going to do. also, what im doing is going using the wire with the rubber casing and soldering that onto one of the jack prongs, and soldering the wire without casing onto the other prong like this:

1pickupdiagram.jpg

i know this works because i tried it by holding it up to my squier bullet and plucked the strings while the jack was plugged in (i know itsp retty ghetto, but hey! it worked! :DB):D )