Can I Use Elixir Strings On My Electric Guitar?

Doh - I have a floyd rose licensed bridge on my guitar and I was about to replace the strings on it. I've never done this before so while I was researching the process I read that you can't use Ernie Ball Slinkys on floyd rose bridges. Now i'm wondering if I can use this set of 12 dollar Elixirs that I have already bought as well? Can I not use them because they have a coating on them? That would stink. Thanks a lot for any information!

Oh and if anyone is wondering, I read that in this article:

http://www.guitarnoise.com/article.php?id=103

Edited by Willin

What he said about slinkys is insane. They work fine on a trem. He must be under the illusion that the name slinky means something. It doesn't. They're just strings like any other. I've used them all. Hey I guess that really is "guitar noise" as in "you can ignore it, it's just noise."

As for the elixirs, they shouldn't be a problem either. The only thing I could see is if the wrap loosened from the string. But if you are torquing properly at the bridge that shouldn't be an issue either. At the nut however, if you keep loosening and tightening it there, it could sever the wrap, I don't know. I can't stand the feel of elixirs, so I'm the wrong guy to ask about those in particular.

You should know first of all that you can’t use just any strings with a floating bridge. I particularly like Ernie Ball Slinky strings. They allow you to do all sorts of effects and they just have a good feel to them. Unfortunately, they’re no good with a floating bridge. Because of their elasticity, they can’t keep the bridge in position. Therefore, use these strings only on guitars with fixed bridges.

That has to qualify as one of the DUMBEST statements I've ever seen on the internet. I've never had a problem using Slinkys with ANY guitar I've EVER owned or played--including those equipped with floating trems.