1st Guitar Build

Ok I'm getting ready to build my first guitar body (I've been putting it off for about 3 years now!), but do you think it's best to do one first out of some crap wood just to make sure I don't make any mistakes. Then if the guitar is right copy the settings I used to make it, and if it's wrong then change it for the final build (which would be made from much better wood).

Also does building in a hollow cavity do much to the sound? I would probably do it by building a 2 piece body - the top part would be about 1/2 inch thick and the bottom part being the proper part to the body which I would route all the way through for the electronics, the 1/2 inch or so top part would then be the section which blocks up one side of the electronics cavity and has the holes in it for everything etc.

On that note- whats the best book to get for building a body? Screw builing a neck, I'm gunna get a nice Warmoth one or something (the whole tuning rod thing scares me and I know I'd screw it up!). The guitar I'm building will be 24 fret and have a floyd rose (I already have almost all the parts except neck and body).

:D

Edited by Myrk-

When I built my first bass, I did a mock-up with cheap pine from Lowes just to get an idea of how I would shape contours, and round the edges. It gave some good practice on using a router, as well. For the $10 in wood it would take (if that) I say go for it! And hey, if your local lumber yard has some poplar, use that instead of pine. At least that way you might have another usable body.

And the hardest thing about building the neck for me was routing the dual-action truss rod channel to be parallel with the neck. Everything else was a piece of cake.