My Solid Body Electric... Done

Dylan

Hi everyone,

A while back I posted a few questions about wiring this guitar in the Electronics forum and its finally done... about a month and a half ago, actually. I just forgot to post the pics. A little background info: I'm a sophomore in high school, and I made this for an independent study... I got school credit for it! Seven months in the making, but totally worth it. Feedback is welcome.

Specs:

Body Wood: 2-piece Cherry w/Sapwood (Solid)

"Rosette" Inlay Around Bridge: Wenge

Neck Pickup: Gibson 490R

Bridge Pickup: None

Other Pickup: Fishman Powerbridge w/ Powerchip preamp

Controls: Magnetic Volume, Piezo Volume, 3-Way (Mag/Both/Piezo) Switch

Neck: Fender Duosonic 22.5" Scale (Tuned One Whole Step Up: F#,B,E,A,C#,F#)

Neck + Fingerboard Wood: Maple

Tuners: Gotoh Mini Schaller Style

Nut Width: 1.625"

EDIT: It needs a name... all I could think of is Cygnus, a cool constellation. Does that sound good? Suggestions?

k3r58k.jpg

Edited by Dylan

The bridge is that far back because otherwise it would be right over the inlay... which wouldn't have been horrible to cover a little of it up, but this way is different and unique.

Here's the back... in some ways it actually has nicer grain than the top, but I like the wavy grain on the top and the semi-straight stuff on the back.

This picture shows another couple of unconventional things... the pickup cavity is rear routed to keep more of the topwood showing, and it looks cool. Also, the electronics cavity is pretty big. The benefit of that is that the wiring was nice and spread out, nothing like trying to wire a Tele cavity.

k3sp5t.jpg

silvertonessuckbutigotone-