First Neck

I started on my first neck project and it is comming along good. For now.

Ill have some pics tomorrow 'cos i left my cam at my gf and i cand download it from my DV-cam.

Now I did some progress on the curve on the back of the neck and im thinking of experimenting a bit.

Since it is my first project, as for a neck, could imaybe do a honduran mahogany fretboar?

Did anyone tried that(I really dont think that no one didnt tryed but still...)

And what about oak?

Or any sugesstions maybe?

Thx in advance!

Take lots of pics so you can save me some mistakes. :D How are you shaping it?

I started on my first neck project and it is comming along good. For now.

Ill have some pics tomorrow 'cos i left my cam at my gf and i cand download it from my DV-cam.

Now I did some progress on the curve on the back of the neck and im thinking of experimenting a bit.

Since it is my first project, as for a neck, could imaybe do a honduran mahogany fretboar?

Did anyone tried that(I really dont think that no one didnt tryed but still...)

And what about oak?

Or any sugesstions maybe?

Thx in advance!

Good luck! Just be patient and check,check,check those dimensions. As you shape the back keep watching the thickness. In regards to the fretboard. You want a good hard wood that is wear resistant. Mahogany is probably a bit soft. Oak? Maybe, but wouldn't be my first choice. I prefer woods that don't require much more than oil for a finish(people finish Maple though so it is not a deal breaker.). I like Ebony, All kinds of Rosewoods, Snakewood, Katalox, Bocote, Bloodwood, Purpleheart, Bubinga, Pink Ivory, Zircote, Canary Wood, and so on(plenty of options).

Peace,Rich

Thx,

Well since i have shovel instead of my nand i made it a bit wider.

It is 4,7 mm at nut ans 6 mm at the end of aneck. And im making it by the eye, well i did mesure all and now im shaping it by the feal.

For now im really happy with it, and i even thot that would be harder to do then it really is. :D