Wet Sanding Laquer

ryema22

Hi,

I'm in the process of the final wet sanding and polishing of my guitar. This is my first time using laquer or wet-sanding so I'm not exactly sure how it should go and I can't seem to find much detailed description. I've wet sanding from 600 up to 1500 and the finish is still lacking a gloss or shine (I was under the impression that 1200 grit and above would be polishing and bringing out the shine)

Can someone explain what I might have done wrong and how to bring out the really glossy look?

Thanks!

Edited by ryema22

You will start seeing a dull "sheen" with the finer graded sandpapers, but not a "gloss". You have to use buffing compounds to get the final gloss. You should be able to stop at 1500 and go to the medium buffing compound, followed by fine, then swirl remover. But first make sure you have removed the sanding scratches from all the previous grits. Take your time sanding (but be careful not to sand through) because any sanding scratches you leave behind will be visible after buffing.

Stewmac's guitar finishing videos (there are others, but that's the one I have) will be helpful if you are unfamiliar with final sanding and buffing out a finish.

Mike

You're never going to get a good high gloss without buffing out your guitar. The easiest, cheapest way to do this is to buy a few foam buffing pads & some buffing compound from your local auto store. You'll need fine cut compound, swirl remover & some wax.