Hey, My First Project

Hey. this is my first attempt at building my own guitar. I have been looking at the website and forums and theres a lot of useful information and handy tips, infact without having read some of the stuff on here i wouldn't have attempted it.

Ok so my guitar that i am going to make is going to be based an Ibanez RG series. I like the shape and the feel as my mate has one and its really nice to play. I already have the body of the guitar cut out, that was done today and still has to be sanded, routed and drilled for components.

Here is a picture of my guitar body at the moment.

Picture%206.jpg

sorry about the poor quality, was taken on my webcam. B)

I am a complete noob, and dont have any experience with working with wood, or electronics. Thanks to this website though and various other sites on the internet i have managed to find schematics and diagrams so i am confident about that now. And luckily for me....my dads a carpenter!! :D so i have practically unlimited supply of tools available and advice. Ofcourse that also reduces the cost which is a big factor for me (im a student!)

One of my problems at the moment is the neck and the headstock. The neck is 25"5 scale 24 frets. I have taken the dimensions for the neck from the ibanez product information. I however am dubious, it claims the neck depth at 1st fret is 180mm and at last fret 200mm. Can this be right? I am struggling to see how a truss rod will fit in there (but then i not really sure how big they are either!! :D ). That is my next question, what would be a good truss rod for this neck as i dont have a clue, i am not bothered about being able to adjust the rod, the simpler the better. And also where in the UK can i get one, i have only found one website but it only has a small range of truss rods, this is the link http://www.touchstonetonewoods.co.uk/ttwp10.html

Thank you in advance for your help.