New Guy With A Fret Leveling Question

Mind Riot

Hello everyone, nice to be here. I've run across this site before and read some of the excellent tutorials from the main page, but I just never noticed there was a forum until a few weeks ago! First, I suppose I'll tell you all a little about myself as an introduction. I've been a musician since I was twelve, I'm now twenty five. Picked up guitar then, bass a couple years later, drums about the same time, then singing. I'm a multiinstrumentalist and am about the same skill level on all three (vocals a bit less). I played bass in a band for about six years, played some gigs, recorded two full length demo albums with about twelve songs each. Then the band split, and I went on my own.

I liked playing in the band, but my real passion was always recording and writing. To that end, when the band split I started really focusing on recording. Over the course of about five years, I slowly built a home studio. I take care of my disabled wife for a living, and we live on a fixed income, so I've never had much money to work with. I also like to build and fix things, so I built as much as I could to save money. I learned all about acoustics and built acoustic absorption panels for my studio. I also chopped up my poor old Tama Rockstar drum set from the seventies and converted it to an electronic set using scrap plywood, Radio Shack and hardware store parts, and some seat cushion foam and paint stencils from Wal Mart. I also make my own cables out of Belden and Canare wire and Neutrik and Switchcraft connectors.

Here's some pics of my studio and drum set if anyone is interested.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/MRpics/E-set.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/MRpics/Bassdrums.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/MRpics/Basstrap4.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/MRpics/Basstrap7.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/MRpics/cbe701e9.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/MRpics/30248322.jpg