Finger Board

Hi I have been reading post here for a few months and have found a ton on great info.

this is my first post and I hope I have do everything correct.

first a little about myself

I have worked in furniture shops for 20 years. on breaks and lunch I can use the machines to do my guitar projects. I have been building guitar for a few years now and have all the building steps down good and have as nice shop at home as well.

I have search here for info on finger boards if it is out there I just did not find it.

now here is my question

I make my own fret boards

I sand all fret boards to 1/4 thick and all the fret boards have turned out nice.

I have always used quarter sawn finger boards. I have a vary nice piece of birds eye maple that is flat sawn could I use the maple for a finger board on a guitar.

any input would be cool.

thanks prs man

I would definately not agree with TimS's statement that stability isn't crucial in a fretboard, because it most definately is since the bow in the truss rod will be pressing up against it. Regardless, it does not have to be quartered. By definition Bird's eye with nicely visible eyes is flatsawn, and thus to use it you'd have to be able to use a flatsawn fretboard, which you most certainly can do. You can use alot of woods for fretboards, some flatsawn, some quarter sawn, both are good.

Chris

PS: Show us some of your finished work!

Y'know.. I get a kick out of things like this. If you asked a group of acoustic builders about the importance of well quartersawn boards. You would get one answer. Ask a group that mainly builds solid body electrics. You get a different answer. Seems kinda silly, as a fretboard is a fretboard.