having trouble tuning guitar

Just got my ESP KH-2 in tonight. It arrived out of tune and as I'm trying to tune it it just won't stay in tune. I start with the top 2 strings and tune them and lock the nut. I then move to the middle and bottom 2 strings and do the same thing. But by that time all the rest are out of tune and it is starting to frustrate me.

I never had this problem with my strat. The strat had the non-recessed Floyd but the ESP does have a recess. Is that what's giving me problems. Also there are 3 springs on the inside of the tremelo route, do I need 5? Any help would be appreciated. I am new to the Floyd Rose thing and if I'm asking a stupid question please forgive me. Thanks for any help... :D

that is common....you must leave the nut unlocked until you get it completely in tune with the headstock tuners.this will take SEVERAL tunings because everytime you tighten one string,it pulls the trem up,looseningthe other strings.after a while you get used to it.when i change strings it usually takes me about 2-3 minutes to tune to pitch.

don't worry though,it's worth it when you learn to use that trem.

btw after you get it tuned to pitch and the nut locked you will have to use the fine tuners at the bridge to tune it back to pitch,as locking the nut also usually throws iyt out of pitch.

Wes and Scott are right!

Tuning a floating tremolo can be a REAL bitch! In a normal tremolo, the springs pull so hard against the strings that the tremolo can only tip forward, and only when you press the bar down, so it's as if the strings are tightening against a fixed bridge.