Lp 1959/deluxe/studio Start To Finish.. Well Almost (first Build)

JonnyC

This is my first build. I'm a real big fan of Les Pauls, currently i own a Gibson LP Standard and an Orville by Gibson 59 Reissue LP. Being a carved top, this is probably not the most suitable guitar to build for a first timer but i don't really want anything else :D

I've always been a fan of the Studio LP for its no frills simplicity, and the fact it doesn't have binding would make my job a little easier as i have no experience building guitars before this. I also wanted to have a long neck tenon as used in my ObG 59 Reissue. Ontop of that, i also like the large headstock found on Customs and Deluxe models.

Yes, the Gibsons do have a good product design. I like them too.

Now this is the bit which will probably cause a bit of controvesy on the build, but i really don't want a flame war here. I bought a Gibson Headstock Overlay on eBay purely for the reason i don't want my own name on a Gibson guitar. Like i say, i don't want to go into a big discussion about if this should be allowed or not, i'm just after constructive critism and if im lucky maybe even some praise :D

Here we go... It never ceases to amaze me why someone can go to ALL THAT TROUBLE to build a guitar, then are too ashamed to put their own name on the headstock. If you arent interested in our opinions on fraud, dont post on a public forum. Simple as that. What you've done here is wrong. You've support a crime (purchasing the overlay), and committed fraud (regardless of if you do or dont plan to sell the guitar, under any false pretences). You know that, we know that, so dont give me the "i dont want to hear it" rubbish.

The guitar in the pictures is obviously not 100% finished, however as i don't have the equipment to finish, i decided to send it off to Rob Williams (Woodworm Guitars) as i know he will do a sterling job, and hide any mistakes i may have made B)