Loud Buzz/hum

Ever since I wired up my guitar, I've experienced a very loud buzz/hum(I don't konw the difference). It is quite audible, but goes away when I place my finger on the metal end of my guitar chord(aka where my chord plugs into the jack, the metal part on the actual end of the chord).

The sound does not get nearly as quiet if I touch anywhere else. Any ideas? If you guys need more info to help me deduce, please let me know. I'm still new to this.

do you know if you were touching the strings or bridge when you touched the jack/cable? i have also had this problem and am trying to fix it. I know that the reason for mine is because I haven't gotten around to sending a ground wire to the bridge. When I touch any metal that is a part of the electronics (pots, jack, etc.) and the bridge or strings the hum goes away. if this is the case with your guitar you may need to check the ground connections inside

head over to guitarnuts.com & read through the wiring & shielding sections. It sounds like a grounding issue (or lack of) but rather than going through every possible problem & solution it might be worth reading through those articles to get a better understanding of how the wiring works & you might be able to troubleshoot it yourself.

head over to guitarnuts.com & read through the wiring & shielding sections. It sounds like a grounding issue (or lack of) but rather than going through every possible problem & solution it might be worth reading through those articles to get a better understanding of how the wiring works & you might be able to troubleshoot it yourself.

Alright, so I spent some time reading the wiring and shielding sections. It had a lot of good info, but I'm not sure I found anything that applied to my situation(I hope I read the right thing).