Bending Maple Binding

Hey all. I have maple binding that is to go around the top of my LP, but I was wondering what an inexpensive way to bend it would be? I don't have enough money to buy a bending iron... would it be possible to make one myself? GENIUS IDEA!! What about using a curling iron? Haha! Also, what are the steps to doing this? I know I shouldn't saturate the wood with TOO much water... or maybe I don't know that and just think that... any tips are appreciated :D I've never done binding before, and I heard that maple is the hardest to bend

you could use a 4 inch diameter pipe and a propane torch as your bending iron. LMII has some info on bending figured maple. I'll be building my first acoustic guitar soon so I have been reading as much as possible on the subject. There is also some videos on youtube of a guy bending acoustic guitar sides. For bending wood, one of the books I bought says to soak the wood for 10 mins in hot water and then go to it with the bending iron. Hope that helps some.

Nonono, yu burn alcohol into the pipe and then start bending the maple, watchout, put a high quantity of water to the wood because it may crack easily.

PTU 7's- Have you ever used the tools or methods you are describing, with success?

Memphetic, Do a couple searches on this subject, or even go dig around the acoustic section. The subject of bending tool options and methods comes up fairly often. I would give you a better responce, but I have to make this short. Key ideas though- Even stable heating source(controlable, and can maintain its heat), your ability to support the wood to prevent breakage and provide even bending, only use as much water is needed (too much can increase the likelyhood of splitting, too little can make heating tuff and increase the chance of scortching), above all else... Thickness is hugely important in how hard it is to heat and bend (.06" is a world easier than .08" for example).

Peace,Rich