Hsc Death Metal Style V Guitar Project.

Hello.

I am a student who has started his higher school certificate in NSW Australia who has an interest in death metal and a newer interest: Guitar building. I have decided to build a some what unique guitar and possibly guitar case to go with this some what different guitar.

I have begun to research guitar building and I have decided to attempt to build a warrior V shaped guitar as used by Karl Sanders of successful death metal band Nile.

I have added some pictures to give anyone who has not seen this guitar an idea of what I mean.

Some pictures in this link that give you an idea of what i am talking about.

I would like to do this guitar with a quilted maple top with a finish that will bring out the gold color of the maple top.

For the neck I have found in the school store room some red jarrah and coach wood (I am not sure what the correct name for the coach wood is) I am hoping to do a three piece laminate on the neck with these timbers unless someone would suggest this to be a poor choice of timber?

For the body I have some old maple that may be planning to use?

Would anyone have a good suggestion for the neck joining method for a n00b?

I am happy to see that a forum like this exists and I am looking forward to hearing any suggestions and comments.:D

Wauchope would have to be a good place to source timber from, no?

I haven't had any experience when it comes to actually working with any Aussie timbers as tonewoods, but I've been doing my own research. Jarrah is a dense, hard wood, not dissimilar to ebony. It's tough as nails, and the irregular grain makes working with it difficult. There are a few acoustic guitar and mandolin makers out there who have put it to use as soundboards, and I've heard of people using it in neck laminates, but it sounds like prime fretboard material to me.