Looking For A Good 20/20 6l6 Poweramp

newbie22

im getting an engl e520 and i have read that to get a really good modern metal sound out of it you need a 6l6 power amp.

i was looking at a marshall 20/20 but i believe el84 based poweramps are better for 80s metal. could i swap the tubes out for something a little more 'metal'?

i dont know a hell of a lot about tube amps, in fact the engl will be my first, so i could be wrong here. any advice would be appreciated.

the reason i want a 20/20 is simply because i dont think i'll be playing wembley anytime soon and i really want to push the tubes when i am playing.

thanks

joe

I'm no expert, but if an amp comes with EL34s chances are it will need BIASing for 6L6s. I know there are a few amps that can use both (the Laney GH50L for one) but they are few and fare between. Some amps do have a trimpot installed so all you have to go is find the right voltage and turn the trimpot to it, others are a little more complex and may require soldering of resistors.

Even a 20watt valve amp is hard to push at reasonable volumes, i've got a 1/2watt valve amp and i can't turn that past 2 without it becoming over-loud.

You might want to ask Wez about metal sounding amps. I know he likes loud (as in 100watt +, more head room) because he doesn't like the sound of power amps breaking up...all preference.

Edited by Thoughtless 7

Yep, different people have different opinions on this, and that’s a good thing. Two ratings I have never had a lot of confidence in, waistband measurements on trousers and wattage ratings on amps.

A few times I have used a 50 watt Marshall and I have turned it all the way up to 10 in a medium sized room, no problem, they don’t seem that loud to me. I find a 100 watt Marshall to be roughly 2.5 times as loud as a 50 watt, but everyone else tells me they are only 1.5 times as loud. You’re absolutely right other lower wattage amps seem louder than their rating suggests.