EMG 81 / EMG-HZ4

want2design

Hi again,

I am a newbie to the whole guitar hardware scene, so you'll have to forgive my lack of knowledge in this department.

Basically, I purchased the EMG-HZ4 (neck) and the EMG-HZ4A (bridge) to put into a guitar I am planning on buying.

I noticed that a lot of the good custom guitars (especially ESP) have the EMG 81 sets.

I probably would have purchased a EMG 81 set, but they were not available on the website I was ordering my parts from.

From what I understand the EMG 81's are active (requires an energy source from the battery), where as the EMG-HZ4's are passive (requires no energy source).

The EMG website describes the EMG-HZ4 as the following:

It is the equivalent of EMG's 81 Active Pickup without the "Active".

Fair enough.

So it is my understanding that the EMG-HZ4's are basically the same pickup as the EMG 81's, only without the battery being required?

If this is the case, why is it that custom shops are opting to use the EMG 81's as opposed to the EMG-HZ4's?

Also, is it best to have the EMG-HZ4 in the neck position, and the EMG-HZ4A in the bridge position?

Thanks in advance for your help!

:D

basicly just cause the 81's have been tried, tested and true over the years, and the HZ are pretty new to the market, also it's my impression the HZ line was developed as more of a lower priced version of the active line. the HZ4 isn't the same pickup as the 81 with no red wire, it's build completely different, bigger magnets, coils, and no preamp so you can't really hotwire a HZ pickup to be and active one, or mix and match the emg&hz lines. They're just refering to the sound similarities. As such i'm not sure if you can put the pickup as close to the strings. Speedy was quite happy with his HZ pickups cause of the coil tapping posibilities available on all models as opposed to only the active 89. So he'll have some good feedback now that he's been playing them for a while.