Beat Up Violin

Ok. Well, lately I've always wanted to learn to play violin, so i've been (lazily) on the lookout for a nice but cheap one to learn on. Well, my mom found this one at a Savers for only $1.99! Here's some pics.

ddddnq9.jpg

ssssnj5.jpg

Its not that beat up. The ONLY structural damage is a crack on the top running from the left F-hole to the rear. (you can sorta make it out as the white line from the top circle of the left F-hole, to the chin rest. Otherwise it's fine. There's alot of areas where the finish is a little worn and scuffed. It's missing one tuner peg. Back is nicely flamed. I'm not that good with identifying woods, so I'll leave that to you guys.

The question is, does this look like it'd be worth fixing up? It's pretty small (and i dont know anything about violin sizes), but even if it is not my size at all then I'd still do it. For the money from selling it, and the experience fixing it up. So give me your opinions on what it's worth ; )

Oh, and another thing. How would I go about fixing that crack? I can't think of a way.

Yeah, that's what I thought too ; )

Couple points of wisdom imparted from my dad:

- He says refinishing it would be a bad idea, that the old finish gives the instrument a unique sound that would be taken away from it, and pointed out that it would be very difficult to get it to look nice and vintage again, that I wouldn't be too happy with the whole "new" look of it. I think he may be right on that...

- He thinks the violin is well worth the trouble refurbishing.

Oh, and also, the neck's finish is completely rubbed off. Just as another detail.

Oh, and also, the neck's finish is completely rubbed off. Just as another detail.