Planning my first guitar - I need help!

I'm just beginning to plan my first guitar project. My woodworking skills are limited to basic carpentry, nothing that compares to this. I definately need any advice I can get :D

Here are my planned specs:

Mahogany body, modified Strat shape, chambered, HSS

Mahogany(?) cap, 1 f-hole

Maple neck/rosewood fingerboard

Wilkinson bridge

Graphite nut/locking tuners

I plan to buy my first router for this project, and I hope to do all other shaping with hand tools and a belt sander. I plan to buy a body blank and a complete neck (I don't feel up to constructing a neck yet)

Does anyone have any words of wisdom to offer?

Thanks!

Guest Litchfield Custom Gutars

Well, I was looking at some kits on ebay earlier. The SAGA kits would be hella easy to customize for this. They are like $80 for a strat. Theyre basswood. Or you could to it like you said, but for the hollow strat, I'd omit the contours for a 1st timer. And get a palm sander. it'll come in way handier than you think. :D

I'm just beginning to plan my first guitar project. My woodworking skills are limited to basic carpentry, nothing that compares to this. I definately need any advice I can get :D

Here are my planned specs:

Mahogany body, modified Strat shape, chambered, HSS

Mahogany(?) cap, 1 f-hole

Maple neck/rosewood fingerboard

Wilkinson bridge

Graphite nut/locking tuners

I plan to buy my first router for this project, and I hope to do all other shaping with hand tools and a belt sander. I plan to buy a body blank and a complete neck (I don't feel up to constructing a neck yet)

Does anyone have any words of wisdom to offer?

Thanks!

It's been my observation that most people when they first come to the forum post a wish list like this. Even I did and I never built that guitar. Keep the wish list in mind, but before you spend big bucks on expensive woods, consider what's been suggested.