Flamenco on Crack?

Drak

I thought that might get your attention!

I was turned on to Al DiMeola (and fusion in general) back in about '78, which in turn introduced me to the world of flamenco guitar via Al's Elegant Gypsy disc, which as Al usually did back then, blended a mix of fiery fast 'LP thru Marshall' fusion mixed with some fluently fast acoustic too. Been listening ever since, I absolutely love it.

And one of my favorite flamenco/Brazillian guitar duelling duo's was just on BET on JAZZ just now.

Strunz and Farah. WHOA!!! I've been listening to these guys for well over 15 years now, and they just get better with age. They are Maniacs on flamenco guitars.

The other 'Hot Crew' is Young and Rollins. They just formed I think about 2-3 years ago(?) and are the closest thing to Strunz and Farah I've ever come across.

All 4 of these guys could probably dance circles around your favorite electric fretboard speed demon. ...Well, maybe.

Check em out, download a few clips, eh? :D

Strunz and Farah Homepage

Young and Rollins Homepage

Yup, fantastic stuff! Heh, I was introduced to Al DiMeola on Don Kirshner's Rock Concert (let's see who's old enough to remember that show B)) late 70's, early 80's I think. I think I still have a video tape of it but on BetaMax (don't have a beta machine anymore though :D.)

Strunz and Farah are incredible players... very flamenco like, even though they play with picks :D.

Hmm... never heard of Young and Rollins, I'll have to check them out.

Another guitarist in this vein worth checking out is Jeff Kollman. He's can be considered one of those electric speed demon but he has this cool latin influenced sound to his playing. The Guitar9 website has some clips of Cosmosquad.

I remember Don Kirshner's Rock Concert but I don't remember Al Dimeola being on it. Maybe I'm not old enough. :D I think that's where I saw The Mahavishnu Orchestra though.