Fretting Difficulties

mhall

Hello all,

I'm a noob and have been experiencing some problems while practicing fretting. I'm using the scrap form my neck (maple/mahogany/maple) as a practice fingerboard.

The specific problems are that when the frets are hammered in, one side appears flush with the board while the back side will not be completely seated. More hammering solves most of this problem but not entirely. This suggests to me that the fret is being hammered into a slot that is not completely perpendicular to the surface of the board. How big a problem is this? Can there be any gap at all between the fret and the surface of the board (thickness of a piece of paper maybe)? It looks a bit ugly but the fret isn't moving.

Also, the tops of the frets do not follow a smooth curve after I get finished with them. I don't know if this is normal or if I'm hitting them too hard or maybe over-radiusing the frets prior to installation.

Any help or suggestions? I've used about 3' of wire so far. Just more practice?

Thanks,

Matt

Can be slanted slots, and/or I've seen the actual tang on some fret-wire slanted a little. Mike Stevens even talks about that on one of the Erlewine vids and shows how he'll hammer in the fret with a bit of a sideways motion to try to get that tang to straighten while it's being driven into the slot.

But, I thought most of the wire being sold these days seldom has that problem.

I press my frets and check for any gap under the fret crown and board surface with a .0015" feeler gauge. If that feeler fits under the fret crown, I'm not happy and take action to get rid of the gap. And that's where it really helps when you have a fret-press that can move over to either the treble or bass side and concentrate pressure on a needed area.

But if you've got no gap on one side, then I guess you've gotten them seated down as well as the fret-wire or fret-slots will allow.