Finish Test Project

ScottR

I decided to test out a couple of finishing products/techniques as I have this need to have projects, but am not quite ready to begin my next guitar. One was Tru Oil, as I really like the way it looks when done well on this site. Mostly Quarter's exquisite lap steels come to mind. Gun stocks look nice too. The other is Z-Poxy which is mostly used in our world as a grain filler to the best of my knowledge. I have used it in that capacity and I have used it to fill the eyes of my bear carving. As bear's eyes it polished up like glass. I'm wondering how close to Rustin's plastic finish it is.

I had a piece of fire wood I had been saving back for a couple of years because it appeared to have a nice curl in it. It also had some spalting. I sliced a slab about an inch thick out of it and sanded the sides down. The curl didn't show up as well as I'd thought it would. It did show some burl like figure here and there. The spalt looked nice. Here are the two sides before I applied any finish.

IMG_0981.jpg

IMG_0984.jpg

Then I proceeded to apply Tru Oil to one side and Z-Poxy to the other. The Tru Oil is going on and building up about the way I expected. The first coat of Z-Poxy went down nice and cured up hard. The second coat cured up very nice and shiny; it looked like a bar top, but it was some what soft. I polished it anyway, while going though the Process up building up the Tru Oil. It polished nicely but marred too easily. So I tried a couple of experiments. You are supposed to mix equal amounts of resin and hardener and it is supposed to be forgiving enough to mix by eye. Since my last batch was soft I mixed a small batch with a bit more hardener than resin. It came out soft and slightly sticky. So I mixed up a batch with more resin and less hardener. This came out rock hard. That seems counter-intuitive to me. Has anyone else come across this phenomena as well?