I'm New To Spraying Systems And Ready To Buy.

Blackdog

I have tried the searchfunction, but could not find anything conclusive.

I've tried the internet and I kind of get the impression that HVLP is mostly intended for large areas, but it's not completely clear to me...

I will be spraying nitro and want to be able to do traditional sunbursts and the such. The primary, if not only use will be guitar finishing.

I don't currently own ANY spraying equipment.

Should I buy a good 4-stage HVLP system, or would it be better to stay with a traditional compressor and a good quality detail gun ?

What would you, the more experienced guys, do if you were buying from scratch now ?

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Luis

HVLP all the way. Take a look at the Finex 1000, it is a mini-HVLP gun. Runs off standard compressed air but uses less CFM's being a mini gun, so you can get away with a smaller compressor (my 30 gallon keeps up fine). DeVilbis also makes soem nice mini HVLP guns. HVLP lays down more material faster so less coats are required and it also has a lot less overspray so you use less paint. Because uses low pressure air it is easier to prevent orange peal as well. For guitars there is no need for a large full size gun, the mini-guns work perfect.

I have the Finex 1000 with a 0.8mm tip for most of my coats. I am going to pick up a 0.6mm for detail work. I have a separate gun for primer, but if I was going to keep one gun I would need to get a larger tip for primer. Mini guns generally use at least 1 size smaller tip than the tech sheet says. So if you clear recomends a 1.0mm tip, use a 0.8 for a mini gun.

I like my old devilbliss detail gun (40yrs ago when I bought it new) Yes I love overspray and the high it gives ya when spraying lacquer. :D Oh that means my respirator is not working very well? What resipirator?