Neck-Thru Bass: First Project

Specs:

Neck: Maple/Bolivian Rosewood 5 piece laminate.

Body: Maple body wings.

Fretboard: Bolivian Rosewood board. Fretless design with NO visible fret markings (side dots will exist on the actual fret positions for 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, etc per normal).

Hardware(going back and forth between black and gold):

Schaller 463 bass bridge

EMG-PJ Active Bass Pickup Set (eventually adding an on board pre-amp)

Gotoh compact bass tuners

Body and headstock design.

DSC00752.jpg

Wood for neck laminate

DSC00725.jpg

Neck glued up.

DSC00731.jpg

DSC00732.jpg

Neck blank out of clamps

DSC00738.jpg

Scarf joint being glued.

DSC00743.jpg

My first oops. Router jumped away from me. I was expecting something like this to happen since this is my first build but was still a little ticked at myself.

DSC00755.jpg

Edited by maull

Side profiles complete. Still need to thickness the neck and head.

DSC00784.jpg

Rough cut of body wings completed. Inner horns routed to shape. Couldn't resist mocking it up a little.

DSC00789.jpg

Spent a few hours building a router sled to profile the head and the back of the neck.

DSC00791.jpg

Added a fillet above the truss rod channel.

DSC00794.jpg

I love the body and headstock shape on this!

Thanks but I can't take too much credit on the design. The body shape is very similar to the Warmoth Gecko and the headstock is based on the Ibanez SoundGear. Since this is my first "from scratch" build I decided to take elements from two basses I really liked.

That happens more than people are willing to admit Maull. It still takes an eye and a mind put together all the ingredients into a cohesive whole though. Just watch the direction you rout slots if you rout them full width as one way causes the router to bite in and away from the fence. Easy to patch in a few layered pieces of veneer in there to conform to the curve.