3rd acoustic

I got distracted with my new toy and was basically playing with it instead of doing any prep for #3. I upgraded the underpowered and undersized cordless Ryobi circular saw with a good Rigid model. Good Lord but that thing powers through wood. I'm not surprised, but still....

So I now have a number of sets and tops in reserve:

bloodwood back & sides

white limba full box

white limba back & sides

spanish cedar full box

spanish cedar top

cherry back & sides

There is enough white limba scrap left to do all of the bracing/kerfing on at least the bull box. The bracing/kerfing on the cherry box will be cherry as well.

My youngest daughter (13) has been wanting to make an acoustic with me since I started learning how. The bloodwood set is hers.

I have cracked more bloodwood sides than i have successfully bent sides regardless of type of wood...

BTW, were did you get the bloodwood set from? I have search high and low for bloodwood backs and sides but haven't been able to find any at the usual suppliers

The back is nearly all glued up. The final two braces are in the clamps. Meanwhile, the neck is scarfed, t/r routed, and headstock wings glued on.

05_zpsnaokab0o.jpg

So I was planing the sides to thickness....

03_zpsjayaeuz7.jpg

...and of COURSE I had a chipout. :angry:

04_zpsouiwfmim.jpg

I'll have to see if I can repair it later.

I'm curious how a hard wood will work for bracing. Larson Brothers used laminated braces with a thin hardwood center and spruce on the outside but I've never heard of full on hardwood braces with a full hardwood box. I did get a chance to play an early 1900's Martin parlor guitar that was all koa except for the spruce braces. That was probably the best sounding guitar I've ever played.