Kitchen work top Strat my 1st build

meatloaf

Hi guys and girls ?

I've been thinking of trying to build a guitar for a while, done a lot of reading and looked at many forums and found that this one.

I'm not very experienced in woodwork and know very little about electric guitars but have got a few tools including a router a rather crude router table that I made myself a cheap jigsaw and a cheap belt sander as well as chisles screwdrivers etc.#

Looking at the cost of suitable wood put me off starting as I thought that I would propably screw up big time so I thought about using an offcut of wooden kitchen worktop thats been lying around since I refitted my daughters kitchen several years ago.

IMG_0080_zpswhmezfjd.jpg

I think it's beech, I know it's not normally used for guitar bodies but it cost me nothing and if I do screw up I'll have some more firwood. I have ordered the hardware that I need including a neck ( no way I'm going to make my own ) I don't have any blue prints so I borrowed my sons cheapo strat copy so I could make a template of the body.IMG_0081_zpsf6i7viy3.jpg

it's not perfect but it's a starting point and I will refine it before I use it.

I wasn't sure about posting this build as it will probably be nowhere near as good as the other builds here but hopefully will not embarrass me too much.

Welcome! 

And thanks for sharing your first build with us. We'll try to give all the help we can. You've got a good plan for materials for a first builds and don't worry about making a few mistakes. Believe it or not this is not the first kitchen worktop guitar we've seen built, and I can promise any mistake you might make won't be the first time it's been done in these pages either.

Have some fun with it!

SR