Questions about building my first bass

PsP

Hello everyone,

I hope I got my way around the forum correctly and I'm in the right place.

So a brief background - I'm a design student and I've been thinking of a project to do for a while now, and I think I've got a nice, dumb and unnecessary idea that can push my knowledge etc.

So I have seen someone make a sub octave bass, and I think I want to make one. Problem is, with what I've come with, everything is pretty much set when it comes to form of the guitar, electronics, and all that jazz, but I just cant wrap my head around how actually scales and fret distances works. I mostly play stoner/doom metal so we downtune to B standard, but I never really gave the thought to how this works and affects everything. All the setup for me has been done by my friend who's a luthier.
The question I have, and it's not a question of why would I do it, it's a question of how to get there. How to calculate fret spacing, how to get the neck length for what I want. How do I calculate it. It would be a tremendously helpful if you could guide me in the direction of making this dumb dream a reality. 

Would a standard scale length and fret spacing work, does it even require reworking? If so what scale length should it be? etc. What would happen to string tension, what strings to have in mind while making this for it to be somewhat playable? I need all the help in the world to wrap my head around this. This a dumb experiment project, I want it to work just about, so I do not care that it's barely audible etc. It's just something I want to make for fun

7 hours ago, PsP said:

The question I have, and it's not a question of why would I do it, it's a question of how to get there. How to calculate fret spacing, how to get the neck length for what I want. How do I calculate it. It would be a tremendously helpful if you could guide me in the direction of making this dumb dream a reality.