Polishing wheel residue

Hello,

I am a somewhat intermediate builder and I have a strange problem with a new neck that I am polishing on a standard cotton wheel. THe results are great when I was polishing the back and any area not touched by the frets. As soon as polished the fretboard, the polishign compound reacted with the frets and spread this grey residue all over the neck and the wheel. I have never had this happen. I used a beeswax/orange oil conditioner that is used by woodturners. 

Later, I was tryign to hand polish the fretboard that I had since cleaned the residue off (grey) and the polishign compound is touching the frets as I do the fretboard and more of this grey/black residue is coming off on the rag. How do I get rid of this residue so that when I polish using a wheel or by hand that the residue does not spread and get on everything?

Thanks,

Glen

When polishing frets it's common practice to mask the fretboard and the edge of the neck to prevent the metal slurry from staining the wooden parts. It's not actually about the compound reacting with the frets if you're thinking about a chemical reaction. The compound is a semi-solid abrasive so using it can be compared to wet sanding which does exactly the same.

For the same reason the fretboard is often polished before hammering the frets in.

If you have a finish on the fretboard you can apply the same finish on the frets as well to prevent the metal from being polished. When you're happy with the finish, mask the fretboard, scrape the frets clean and polish them. That should keep your neck and fretboard clean.