Junior

Akula

Hey all,

Having polished off the last round of builds, I did my normal spring-time workshop clear out and tidy up, and discovered that I have a fairly good collection of offcuts and spare parts. What to do...

Gonna build a single-cut flat-top guitar. I've got nothing sized for a proper body blank so it's going to be a set of pine boards I picked up off the street a few years ago. I've got the offcut from the underneath of a neck-through blank to use, as well as a fresh slice of my Ironbark billet for the fretboard. I figure I'll use this opportunity to work on some things I've never done before, and work on some things I could be doing better, like set neck construction, proper inlays, finishing and fretwork etc. The only thing I should need to purchase is a truss rod!

Single cut build, 660mm scale length, two humbuckers, T-O-M bridge, set neck with a neck angle.

image.thumb.jpeg.6e563206965044f7f75e688fd373cd6d.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.6ce3b96ae156745019c0dfc36ffd9ddc.jpeg

- Jam

• Like 3

9 hours ago, ShatnersBassoon said:

I always thought it was oak they used.

This little sidetrack woke up my curiosity so I found this: https://www.agicorailfasteners.com/news/what-wood-are-railway-sleepers-made-of.html saying

• Common track section and turnout track section: Elm, birch, oak, jarrah, karri, sal, mora, maple, azobé, poplar, larch, pine, Yunnan pine (a kind of Chinese pine), spruce, fir, hemlock and other broad-leaved tree species (poplar isn’t used as turnout sleeper).
  • Bridge track section: Huashan pine (a kind of Chinese pine), larch, Yunnan pine (a kind of Chinese pine), spruce, fir, hemlock, koraiensis, etc.