Oiling - pointers?

Hi All,

I have on order a swamp ash warmoth body and a maple warmoth neck. As this is my first project guitar I'm not going to attempt to paint it! Plus I like the look of natural wood guitars.

I'd really like to oil it to obviously seal and protect it somewhat from the years of sweat, blood etc it will be subjected too (I hope!) and I've been doing a bit of reading. I realise the three main types of oil are danish, tung and gun oil (I think?) but I have a couple of questions if any of you would be so kind:

1) Which would you recommend for ease of application, quality of finish, and longevity?

2) Could you point me towards any simple step by step tutorials (assume I know nothing!)

3) I'm in the UK - where is the best place to find these products?

4) The chap at warmoth said I would probably need to lacquer the neck - do I do this as well as oiling it or instead of? He recommended reranch.com to get the lacquer.

Sorry if these are obvious but I really want to do a good job of this guitar, and I'd rather do my research now rather than mess it up due to lack of preparation...

IMHO;

1) I find tru-oil to be the easiest and most durable oil finish. I think that's what you mean when you refer to 'gun oil' although it's more of a varnish than an oil. (polymerized linseed oil)

2) Tutorial for Tru-oil finish

3) Tru-oil distributor

4) I would use Tru-oil on the neck as well because it feels nice and slick not sticky like laquer when your hands get sweaty.

There is also another guitar building forum that has alot of good info on how to use Tru-oil.

Musical Instrument Makers Forum

Go here and sign up for free and use the search function for "Tru-oil"

Tru-oil, like many oils, gives the wood a slight amber glow and enhances the 3-D look of the grain very well. :D

With enough coats you can get a finish that is almost as high-gloss as laquer or poly. (even though the tutorial states only 3-4 coats).