21 frets

ok well i have a 21 fret neck lying around in my house. Im just wondering if i can use it for a strat. It is "strat like" but i have noticed most strats are 22 frets ect...could i use my neck for that strat? or would i have to change the scale lenght? Im a newb so i might not be making any sence at all, thx anyways

coddy

The best way to tell is to measure from the nut to the 12th fret it should be 12-3/4" if you have a true 25" scale neck. Also, measure from nut to the end of the neck and if it is 18-7/16" in middle of neck then it should fit any strat body. Most 22 fret necks have the same neck pocket, they just have a fretboard extention on it that holds the 22nd fret.

NeckDimentions.gif

heeldimentions.jpg

pictures taken from Warmoth's site

its not the distance to the 12th fret from the nuit that matters, put it on and measure from your bridge to the 12th fret if its about 12.5 inches then it should be right. since the problem is the neck being too short not that its an improper scale length, and on my strat the 22nd fret is without an extension...

ohhh right your not retrofitting this on another strat, my bad, :D

its not the distance to the 12th fret from the nuit that matters, put it on and measure from your bridge to the 12th fret if its about 12.5 inches then it should be right. since the problem is the neck being too short not that its an improper scale length, and on my strat the 22nd fret is without an extension...

ohhh right your not retrofitting this on another strat, my bad, :D

yes it is, the 12th fret should be halfway between the nut and the bridge

and if the distance is 12 3/4 in. shouldn't the scale length be 25.5"? thats what strats usually are. PRS's are 25"

it should be 12-3/4" if you have a true 25" scale neck

It should be 12.5 inches. nut to 12th fret is supposed to be exactly half of scale length.