The Fool Guy's First

This is my first build. Mainly a practice run, done cheaply (if there is such a thing with guitar building). I've had a thread running on the UK Guitar Builders Forum, (http://simnettguitars.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=2034.0) but thought I'd add it here too.

A quick summary of where I'm at so far...

Body Blank, complete with huge knot...

P8250055.jpg

Planing Jig - copied from someone here on PG but I can't find the post now, so sorry for not giving you credit...

P8250054.jpg

After planing...

P9020097.jpg

Body rough cut...

PA070117.jpg

Routed...

PA120135.jpg

Cock-ups...

PA120138.jpg

That's about as far as I've got with the body...

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've been following this over on UKGB and I copied your take on the router jig to flatten the body blanks which now I find out you copied off someone on PG. Thanks whoever you are. Its good that other DIY guitar builders are using the clever jigs to help us all.

Your build is coming on and as already said the router defects happen all the time. As least to me. I just blend them in with sandpaper. After all if you want a fender. go and buy one...no harm done

• 2 weeks later...

Got the neck cut out this weekend.

There was a gap in the fretboard join (not enough clamps) about a cm away from where the edge of the fretboard would be...

PB170001.jpg

Got the neck cut out...

PB270021.jpg

Result!!

PB280025.jpg

The gap was just on the very edge of the blank and once the neck was cut out the join was perfect. Finally something goes right! :D

Will still add a lot more clamps next time.

Been off work with the lurgy for a couple of days so decided to get started on the inlays rather than sitting around feeling sorry for myself.

So... a few hours and about 20 blades later...

PB290031.jpg

PB290029.jpg

They still need a bit of a tidy up, they're not identical but as they're flames it doesn't really matter...