New Bass player, New toys.... newbieness everywhere!

Okiedokie_newbie

Hi!!

Found the site when looking for reference material when doing some work. Now I've found it, I supposed I should contribute, thank you, and try to get involved!

First thing's first - I have been playing bass for 16 months, but I am a tuba and trombone player\teacher. I bought a Warwick Alienbass acoustic to learn on, and started my journey. Along the way, a friend found a solidbody at a garage sale for $40. My logic - any money spent doing it up would be equal to or less than buying one, and there might be an advantage to having one.

New problem - didn't have an amp, so I didn't get much of a chance to test it for a while, and work out how good or bad my investment was! Fixed that - someone bought me a small Fender Rumble. So here we go....

SQUEAL!!!!

So, here I am with something (A black Hondo 83H with a white scratch plate) that has faulty electrics, one knob missing, the other is a little stiff, and an annoying buzz coming from the head of the guitar.... and so my project began.

This week, my wife (a mechanical engineer, and the owner of all our tools) has rewired the guitar, and I've ordered new knobs, a bridge, and managed to work out that the buzz in the head is the G tuner is loose in the shaft, vibrating with the string.

The bridge is a "Zinc Alloy Modern Jazz Bass Guitar Bridge" - identical to the one I am replacing (because I didn't want to oder something "pretty" and find it wasn't designed for my guitar) in all aspects except, I am replacing a silver one with a black one. The main reason for the new bridge is one of the intonation adjusting hex screws has totally seized on the D string.

After the rewire, the static from the jack is improved, but not perfect. Was looking at a prewired scratchplate from China - black again - as a quick and easy way of just "starting again" with the electrics, and guaranteeing it's not faulty soldering.