Using a block plane

Jehle

I feel a little silly asking about how to use a block plane since it seems so simple of a tool.

I've never had one before and I just invested in two over the weekend, one mid sized and another finger plane. I played around a bit with them and found it a little more difficult to work with than I expected. On the scrap I was practising with, the blade would catch, dig in, and the plane would screetch to a halt. I don't think I'm being heavy handed with it, but maybe I am.

Is it supposed to be hard to work or am I just not used to the feel of the tool yet?

If the blade catches, you may have it set too deep. Back it off a bit, so it's taking off less material with each pass.

Good idea. I tried to set the blade so that is was just poking out. What's a good rule of thumb for setting the depth of the cut? I'm a total noob with the tool.

Man this is strange feeling to ask questions like this. But there are no supid questions, right?

:D (imagine dunce cap)

Okay. When would I want to use a block plane?

Should the surface already be pretty smooth?

Is the block plane more to refine the perfectly flat surface or could it pretty much take rough sawn timber and level it?

Make sure the blade is ultra sharp... use wet and dry paper on a flat surface rather than a sharpening stone. Try 600, then 800, then 1200 grits.

Set the blade out slightly, very small amount, hardly anything.

Make sure you go with the grain. The grain might be running out towards you, or away from you. Try practising on scrap in both directions to see the difference.

Angle your plan slightly, eg: on a 30-45 degree angle, while you cut.

Okay. When would I want to use a block plane?

Is the block plane more to refine the perfectly flat surface or could it pretty much take rough sawn timber and level it?

Do you have a block plane, or a shooting plane?? Block planes are short, maybe four or five inches long.