Codename Swansong

After a long while reading and learning from the forum, I have found the time and motivation to begin my first project. I recently ordered wood and components from LMI and Stewmac, and received them a mere four days later.

The plans are as follows:

- LEFTY

- Alder Body to be adapted from a Jem 777, minus the monkey grip, with an AANJ. I opted for a 3-piece body from LMI as opposed to a one or two piece because this is my first project, so I'll hold out on the nice woods until I have more experience.

- 27" scale length

- Hipshot hardtail bridge

- Maple neck, 24 frets, angled headstock

- Pau Ferro FB

- 6100 Fretwire

- Hotrod Truss Rod

- Headstock shape still undecided

- Dual HB's

- 1 vol, 1 tone, 3 way switch control config.

Sound good? Any thoughts or ideas?

I will post pictures as soon as I familiarize myself with the forum pic posting rules, but for now, I will link my first guitar build, a Warmoth Flying V.

Warmoth Lefty Flying V

• Replies 118
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

And here are those pictures I promised:

Here is a shot of all the wood I received from LMI. NICE!

8157883_fb752c3c70.jpg

The body blank came with an LP body tracing on it...Im gonna copy it onto a piece of plywood and make a template from it. Thanks LMI!

8157884_d4303c8949.jpg

These are 1st grade Pau Ferro FB blanks from LMI. The grain is pretty straight, and in my humble opinion I think they are quite beuatiful. The little dot on the lower section of the rightmost FB was a spot of wax that I scratched off with my fingernail after noticing it.

8157885_534312588c.jpg

Heres another shot of the FB blanks.

8157886_10c0ca55d3.jpg

The maple neck blank is almost all quarterwawn. Now is this an actual quatersawn piece of lumber, or is it just a choice piece of flawsawn that appears quartersawn?

8157887_9fd27e0164.jpg

8157888_383bbe038d.jpg

I almost forgot to post this pic of the neck blank.

8160091_6dbc61580f.jpg