Crud!!!

daveq

My drill press depth stop suddenly broke loose and the hole for my inlay went off center (and too deep) :DB) . The biggest problem is that it went off center. I didn't realize it until after I had glued in several dots of abalone and sanded it down. It's the 21st fret (of 24) and it's off by about 1/32 (or a little less). With the strings running alog side, I think it will be an obvious sore thumb.

I'm not experienced with inlay work. The other dots are going in fine but the 21st keeps calling me and driving my insane. What would you do? Should I crack the neck over my workbench and burn it? Should I dare to take it back out (it is super-glued in) and do something to try to hide/move it?

It's Brazilian Rosewood by the way. By the time I'm done with it - it will look more like a rotten log.

If you can give me some suggestions, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Dave

umm... well if you're not to confident about your skills of removing it then, why not run with it, offest the 19th dot to the oposite side the same amout then the 17th to the same side as the 21st? do kinda like a sutble zig zag thing? or maybe make the offsets a little bigger with each hole you drill and just alternate the side it gets offset to too so you have like this arrow or tornado kinda shape? instead of a borring straight line now you can be creative!

i think the only person who will ever notice it is you.think these big guitar manufacturers never do anything off center?i know it's not ideal and the reason you are building it is to do it the best you can but i think a completely flawless guitar is pretty hard to come by.

I don't understand why your depth stop caused it to go off center to begin with but, if you're only off center by 1/32", I would suggest pop out the inlay (shouldn't be hard, super glue doesn't really glue shell worth a damn, it will probably pop out cleanly)