Neck Profiles - Whats The Difference?

Hi Folks

Another newbie here, so please go gentle on me!

I'm thinking about making my first guitar, although I'm a bit lost regarding neck profiles. I recently got some Radius Gauges, which I've used to determine (from measuring several different guitars) the fingerboard radius I'd like to use, is there such a thing for comparing profiles. To be honest I wouldn't know a C from a V to a U. :D

I know that sound really dim, cos they're bound to look like the letters do, but can you get some sort of measuring gauge which you can offer up to the neck of any given guitar to determine which category it would fall into? I guess what I'm saying is until I see the cross section of each profile, I'm stumped.

If anyone could help it'd be most appreciated, there may be some online diagrams somewhere to download?

Cheers in advance. Once I find this out, I'll be hacking up tree's for the body like there's no tomorrow!!

Mark

Since we're talking about such things, I had a question I've been meaning to ask, too--

In offset neck profiles, is the fatter side normally toward the high E or the low E?

Welcome to the site, Mark!

Greg

Hey Mark, I would like to know the same thing. I was thinking about it and here is what I think or what I will do on mine. I would find the thickness I want for the neck including the fretboard once it's attached, then using the thickness I would shape down the sides from there.

Say I wanted a v, I would leave the middle at say 21mm at the first fret then shave down the sides to make the profile a v. That way you keep the neck the same in thickness and such, but would have a slightly different feel. I might do a v because I like a thicker neck, and a v might let me have the thickness but still give me easy reach across the board, although I want to make sure it won't start hurting my hand after playing for a while.