Need Some Advice About A Tube Amp

thegarehanman

Ok, I have a Carvin ValveMaster 100 watt head. You'll have to bear with me as my amp knowledge is close to none. I bought it used with offbrand tubes. It uses 12AX7's(5) for the preamp, and 4 EL34's for the power amp. I'm debating replacing all of the tubes with Mesa Boogie tubes as I've read(harmony central) that it makes a noticable improvement, particularly on the gain channel. The amp can accept either EL34's, 5881's, or 6L6GC's as power tubes. Would there be any difference in the tone of the amp if I used a type of tube other than the EL34's? Also, when I turn the reverb up, the amp starts to hum a bit. Is there anything I might be able to do about this? Perhaps the reverb tank is going on me? Quite honestly, I'm tickled pink about the clean channel. It's one of the nicest clean channels I've ever heard. I don't really use the lead channel, but I'd like to know it sounds good so it's there when I need it. The reverb would be really nice to have. I'm always hesitant to crank it up because I don't want the hum, however minor it may be. I appreciate any advice or experience you can share.

peace,

russ

Edited by thegarehanman

Russ, what kind of tubes are in it now? I'm not sure M/B branded tubes would necessarily be an improvement - in fact, they could easily be exactly the same tubes you already have.

If the reverb hums, it could be that the tank needs shielding and/or grounding - a reverb tank has a coil in the output side that can easily pick up hum if it's not shielded well (or if it sits too close to a transformer). There's usually some slight hum with reverb maxed even on the best of amps, but if it's enough to be annoying, you might need to check the tank and the cables.