Refinishing B.C. Rich Warlock... Help please?

This is my first post here, although I lurked for a while -

Yeah, as the topic says, I am refinishing my Warlock bass guitar, and eventually going to restore it completely... It's currently finished in a bright red color, which has a good bit of little scratched over it... But all that is going to change. This is my first time to consider such a feat really, and I came here for moral support, and to ask some questions.

I am in the autobody and repair biz on the side, and we do little stuff for people, and it goest without a hitch... How different from auto work is this guitar painting?

Also, I was wanting to go with something a little radical at first, but I think maybe I shouldn't try to go big my first time out. So I thought it over, and I like the satin black finish that I've seen on some guitars - (ex - Epiphone Gothic series). I think that I may end up doing that on this one to keep it kind of simple.

I have a small fracture, (maybe just in the finish) on one of the bottom sides of the bass, how do I go about repairing this so that it won't be noticeable and won't interfere with my refinishing project?

I am seriously considering ordering 2 more basses, (if all goes well) in the next week or so... So I am excited right now to say the least.

I put this into the knowlegeable people's hands who are pros at what the do... :D

Maybe these will give you a few ideas, maybe give you a few ideas of what NOT to do! :D

Here are 3 pics of my Warlock madness, FWIW.

First is just the raw body, which is solid one-piece Ash that has been chambered out on both sides (like a 335 I guess) and a Lacewood top added.

Second is the stained version.

B*tch still ain't done yet!

I may add that this finish wasn't 'good enough' for me (idiot!) and I stripped it off and stuck on a Coco-Bolo top, along with routing a Floyd bridge cavity for it.