What Not To Do To A Mahogany Neck

HI,

I love to work on my guitars. I'm self-taught and have learned everthing from trial and error. I'd like to pass on my latest error. I have a guitar that's all mahogany with a set in neck. The neck was also mahog with a poly finish. I decided to sand the neck down to a slimmer contour. What did I learn?? If you shave a mahogany neck down too slim, it turns into a rubber band. Just holding an open E chord whould make the neck wobble out of tune.

I cut out the section of the body, and will try to glue in a solid block of mahogany, then route out a spot for a bolt-on. Does this sound like the right option?

thanks,

al

impactbody.jpg

You aren't interested in making a set neck from scratch? It can be done. The wobbliness of the neck could be due to flatsawn lumber. I have a really thin quartersawn mahogany neck on my first build and it's plenty sturdy. Gluing in the block and rerouting for either a bolt on or set neck is a good route. Just make sure all of your joints are tight.

peace,

russ

Edited by thegarehanman

Im going to make my own mahogany neck soon. How thin is too thin? Perhaps you could have reinforced it with some of those carbon fiber rods that they sell at Stew Mac. Ive got some flatsawn mahogany that I plan to use for my neck. I plan on using a nice sturdy truss rod and two carbon fiber rods on either side to reinforce it. I dunno, maybe Ill end up trying to get some quarter sawn...Ill just see how this works out first.