Mold On Neck

My friend just got a guitar for free from his cousin. It's only been played a few times, then he apparently got bored with it and just kept in the basement for a long time.

The neck apparently wasn't finished to well on the side your fingers wrap around, and there seems to be a little mold growing, It's not extremely moldy. It just has a little tint of green (It's maple on rosewood).

He wants to know the best way to either remove/prevent it from getting worse the more he plays it (sweaty hands and an poorly finished moldy neck don't go well together).

He wants to just cover it with some tung oil or something. Would that be a bad idea?

I have no idea what he should do since I'm not a pro. And I would imagine that putting tung oil over the mold wouldn't really do much to prevent it from growing. Sure maybe it would stop growing on the outside but wouldn't it still spread on the inside?

I told him it would probably be best to get a new neck altogether. Would you agree?

Thanks for your time.

Thanks for the help so far people.

Its not oil residue left over from before. I told him to try the peroxide thing, then gave him some of my polish and cleaner to clean off some of the left over peroxide. The peroxide cleared off a little of it. And after about 1/2 an hour of him playing it this morning, then about 1 to 2 hours of me playing it today, the colour went back to the same light green tint it was before.

I'll see if I can get my camera working so you can get a better idea of what it looks like. I take it not too many people on these boards have experience with finishing over mold lol. So I'll ask again.

Does anyone know if it would be ok to refinish the maple neck with tung oil over moldy areas, or will that cause more problems?

Since when are upright bass necks left unfinished? Maple should never be left unfinished, and any experienced luthier would never leave a maple neck unfinished.