Any Late Comers To Learning Guitar?

Robert Irizarry

Hi Everyone: Not only am I a newbie to guitar building, I'm basically a newbie to the guitar as well. I took a half hearted stab at it many years ago in my early twenties but didn't stick with it mainly because I was being a dumb 20 something. I recently picked it up again after my wife gave me an acoustic for our anniversary last year. I'm fast approaching 39 and I was wondering what experiences anyone has with taking up the guitar a bit later on in life. Any tips or issues you've run into along the way? One of the things I've encountered is joint stiffness in my left hand. I think part of it is technique related (applying too much pressure when chording for example) but I'm guessing part of it is being the proud owner of somewhat older joints. :D

Hi Everyone: Not only am I a newbie to guitar building, I'm basically a newbie to the guitar as well. I took a half hearted stab at it many years ago in my early twenties but didn't stick with it mainly because I was being a dumb 20 something. I recently picked it up again after my wife gave me an acoustic for our anniversary last year. I'm fast approaching 39 and I was wondering what experiences anyone has with taking up the guitar a bit later on in life. Any tips or issues you've run into along the way? One of the things I've encountered is joint stiffness in my left hand. I think part of it is technique related (applying too much pressure when chording for example) but I'm guessing part of it is being the proud owner of somewhat older joints. :D

Have you checked your posture, if your left wrist is curled round too much that won't help !

I'm a relatively young 31 (playing since 16 but with a 5 year break until 18 months ago), and I still get a sore left hand sometimes trying to pull funny chords that I'm not used to, I guess it happens to everyone at some point. (Not to mention a sore right arm from playing too much Slayer B) )