81/85 & HZ

Speedy McFeely

hi all,

i just played a jackson i really like, but it has EMG HZs instead of say an 81/85 combo. i know that the HZs are the more affordable EMG pick ups, but what are the differances between the two. if i were to buy the jackson and swap for 81/85 EMGs would i even notice? i want active p/us, but i have very little knowledge on them. i really like Zakk Wylde's tone; my reason for wanting EMGs.

THANX

While I have NO experience whatso ever with EMG-HZs, I do have a Jackson KE3 with the mentioned active combo in it. The difference I noticed after the change is that I get alot more "bite", or definition in my sound, plus more harmonics (much more "alive"-sounding). That's compared to whatever were in 1990 KE3 though, so I don't know how that compares to HZs, but from what I've heard, HZs "suck monkey balls" and so on (compared to active EMGs), so I definateyl think you'd notice a difference.

in a word ,YES!!!!!

the difference in tone between the hz and the 81/85 is HUGE.imo the hz's are just an economy pickup and are not even as good as duncans or dimarzios.where emg excells is in the active line.

if you like the jackson,get it and swap the pickups.you will be glad you did.

the hz pickups are extremely noisy and feed back continuously.they hurt my ears.i don't reccomend them.

the active line however is quiet and sounds great.

i played one of those jacksons.. with the HZ... my immediate reaction after plugging into a familiar amp was EWWWWWWWW they sound so bland.. and dead... and just.... YUCK... definitly a far cry from the 85's i have in my strat... and i agree with wes... they are much noisier then the active line of emg's... ask the store if you can just take the pickups out, and get a discount off the price cause i see HZ on ebay all the time... people can barely give those things away... but they might be good for projects.. good "shop" pickups i guess