And Here's My First Inlay

Ok, so here it is.

The photo is not so good tho.

19-star-inlay-finished.jpg

It will look neater when I get the frets on the board of course, so all in all I'm pleased with it.

I probably shouldn't have started out with such a complex shape, but I'm making my 'dream' guitar, so I had to try.

I see some small holes in the filler here and there, I actually only saw 2 before I took the photo, so I'm unsure if I should care about it,

I guess it is possible to add some more filler and sand it down, but I'm afrait to mess it up more than it is.

About sanding, I have started to sand the fretboard, getting a 16" radius, but since I have no experience, I'm unsure how much to sand on every grit.

To me it looks fine, but I doubt that it is, but I have nothing to compare with, so I don't know when every grit is 'finished'.

Should I sand every grit for about 5 mins, 10, 30, no idea. It feels nice and smooth now, but I only sanded to about 320 grit now, I know I gotta go higher, but how high should I go..?

Another thing, it is best to sand the board completely before fretting, right..?

thanks a lot!!

And happy new year btw.. :D

Edited by Unrealize

Pearl is really easy to polish. 5 minutes would be WAY TOO MUCH. Get the radius right, than a little 400 grit until the scratches are gone, than extra fine steel wool to shine it up. That's all it needs. It a lot easier than it sounds too. Don't over think it or over polish. The whole thing shouldn't (after the radius) take more than a minute.

My first project was crazy. I was told that there was a inlay teaching company and for the final project you did a butterfly. So I did a butterfly and on flower. 52 pieces of 12 different materials. I found out later that the butterfly the training company did was 6 pieces :-) On well, once the swearing stopped I got a lot of experience from that one project.

Ok, so here it is.

I guess it's an ebony board, right? I take my boards to 1200 grit.