Beginner's 2nd Guitar

Geo

Hi. I'm a beginner. This is my second electric guitar. The body is poplar, with a spruce top. I had intended to put some kind of hardwood top on it, but I used some spruce that I had lying around instead. Then I decided to do a little cavity and soundhole. I haven't started the neck at all yet. I'm hoping LMI will get some more cheap neck blanks in stock (walnut or sapele mahogany).

This is basically a "practice build". I have a long way to go, and I'm also limited in power tools (table saw, jigsaw, hand-held drill). But, I am addicted. I hope to get a router sometime soon; I would like to attempt a set-neck. Me010.jpg

More pictures:

http://s134.photobucket.com/albums/q119/Georder/

Thanks for taking a look! Any comments (+ or - :D) are welcome.

Hi. I'm a beginner. This is my second electric guitar. The body is poplar, with a spruce top. I had intended to put some kind of hardwood top on it, but I used some spruce that I had lying around instead. Then I decided to do a little cavity and soundhole. I haven't started the neck at all yet. I'm hoping LMI will get some more cheap neck blanks in stock (walnut or sapele mahogany).

This is basically a "practice build". I have a long way to go, and I'm also limited in power tools (table saw, jigsaw, hand-held drill). But, I am addicted. I hope to get a router sometime soon; I would like to attempt a set-neck. Me010.jpg

More pictures:

http://s134.photobucket.com/albums/q119/Georder/

Thanks for taking a look! Any comments (+ or - :D) are welcome.

seems like a lot of space between the pickups... how did you measure out your scale length without a neck or a drawing?

unfortunately it does look like you may have not taken bridge placement into consideration...but if it is just a practice body then it isn't the end of the world...

my first guitar i did with a dremel...freehand...so you can imagine what it looked like before pickup rings and cover plates.

Thanks for the replies.