Digital Drums?!?

ibanez_crazy

I know this is a guitar forum....but in my younger days, I was a drummer. Now I would like to get my kid a drumset, but mom dosesnt want the noise. Digital drums can be quiet, and take up less room. Anyone have any experience with an economy set....say under 400 bucks? Looking specifically for a double kick, and dual zone triggers. Suggestions?

I was looking into these for my kid too. But from what I gathered, the low end drums tend to have a lot of problems reading the beat--that is, you hit the pad, and it takes a while for it to generate the sound, if at all, or it'll trigger several beats at once, things like that.

On the other hand, I've just discovered that there are rubber cymbals and also rubber pads that one can lay across the heads of normal drums--they're not completely silent, but they'll do. The feel is not the same as the actual drums, of course, but he doesn't have to use them when no one else is around.

I just sold my 9 piece kit with rack and cymbals because it took up so much room, and I never had a chance to play it for more than 5 min at a time. Thats why its kinda bittersweet looking at the digital stuff. Your right about the double trigers or loss if a hit, but for teaching a kid, or just goofing around, its not that bad. Its not like Im gigging or recording with it. I do however want the dual zone for rim shots with the snare, and chokable cymbals. I played on the newest roland V series kits, and its acuracy is amazing.....its also 5 grand, so in a month from now my kid can say Im done with it :D